POLYAS Election Glossary

We provide explanations and background information on elections, voting rights and digital democracy


The BSI-Standards are published by the German Federal Office for Information Security (BSI), and they contain information on setting up IT security. The various BSI-Standards are sorted according to the following numbers and criteria:  

  1. Information security management systems (ISMS) (100-1).
  2. IT risk management procedures (100-2)
  3. Preparation of a risk analysis for high and very high security requirements, constructing and running the IT security analysis (100-3)
  4. Emergency management (100-4)

Since 2006 the Office for Information Security matches its standards regularly with international norms such as ISO and IEC 27001.

The implementation of BSI-standards compliance is important for the functioning of IT security. The standards mean products and services are checked for IT security and are subsequently awarded an IT security certificate. How these standards are introduced and implemented is described in the IT Security Catalogues, which have made up the IT Security Handbook along with BSI standards since 2005.

See also: IT security, BSI - Federal Ministry Security Information Technology, IT Risk Management

< Go back