POLYAS Election Glossary

We provide explanations and background information on elections, voting rights and digital democracy

Common Criteria

The Common Criteria for Information Technology Security Evaluation (CC) is an organization which sets international standards for computer security certification. Achieving certification under Common Criteria standards amounts to worldwide recognition that an IT system's architecture is both functional and reliable. 

The Common Criteria consists of 25 member countries which are represented through ministries and standardization institutes. Together, the members arrange testing processes and minimum standards for various IT products.

The international recognition of collaboration prevents products which do not fulfil certain standards, or which are certified multiple times in different countries, from reaching the market.

Common Criteria Testing Process:

  1. Description of the protection profile and security standards for the product 
  2. Setting up a catalogue of function requirements 
  3. Listing the collective requirements for product checking 

Products which pass the evaluation process from an accredited body receive certification. This rigorous process ensures higher security and reliability. In Germany, the Federal Ministry for Securtiy in Information Technology (BSI) is responsible for awarding certificates under Common Criteria standards.  


See also: BSI - Federal Ministry for Security Information Technology , IT Security, Data Security

< Go back